- By Gurmeet Batra
- Mon, 06 Oct 2025 12:26 PM (IST)
- Source:JND
India vs Pakistan, Women's World Cup: Pakistan pacer Diana Baig spoke out about opener Muneeba Ali's controversial run-out during the high-voltage match against India at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.
After suffering a humbling defeat against India by 88 runs, Baig has put the dispute surrounding Muneeba's run-out to rest, stating that the issue has been resolved and there's no need for further discussion.
The incident, which occurred during the fourth over, sparked anticipation in the Pakistan camp, when Muneeba was given out by third umpire Kerrin Klaaste.
ALSO READ: NZ-W vs SA-W Predicted XI, ICC Women's ODI World Cup 2025, Indore Weather Report
The controversy took centre stage when questions arose about whether Muneeba had successfully grounded her bat before the ball hit the stumps. The series of occasions showed Muneeba stepping out of her crease, attempting to ground her bat; however, she lifted it just as the ball arrived.
As Muneeba Ali awaited the third umpire's decision, a visibly frustrated captain, Fatima Sana, was seen animatedly engaged in a heated exchange with the fourth umpire. The umpires remained determined, and Muneeba was eventually forced to leave the field.
After this, the Pakistan coaching staff were seen expressing their palpable frustration.
Following the match, Baig was questioned about the incident during the post-match press conference.
A reporter asked Baig about the controversial moment, questioning, "Muneeba was run out, and the captain also raised some concerns regarding that incident. Has the management made any decision on this matter? Any comment on Muneeba's run-out?"
Peeling the curtains off the controversial run-out, Baig said, "Muneeba's run-out issue has already been settled, I believe. I don't want to talk much about it now. Whatever happened and whatever the situation was, I think it has been resolved."
Moreover, during the India vs Pakistan match, former Australian cricketer Mel Jones weighed in on the controversy, explaining the MCC law.
"Law of cricket 30.1.2: A batter shall not be considered to be out of her ground in running or diving towards her ground and beyond, and having grounded some part of her bat, the bat beyond the popping crease, there is subsequent loss of contact between the ground and any part of her person or bat, or between the bat and the person," Jones said.