• Source:JND

India vs Pakistan, Asia Cup 2025: Pakistan's cricket team has reportedly complained to the International Cricket Council (ICC) over the controversial dismissal of Fakhar Zaman during their Super Four match against India in the 2025 Asia Cup in Dubai on Sunday.

Fakhar, who looked promising for his 15-run contribution in just 9 balls, was the first Pakistani wicket to fall after they were put into bat first. He was dismissed by Hardik Pandya in the third over of the match, with Sanju Samson taking an impressive low catch.

ALSO READ: 'Abhishek Sharma Will Blow Cricketing World Apart', R Ashwin After Star Opener's Memorable Show Against Pakistan

Fakhar, who was promoted up the order, tried to defend the third delivery of the third over off Pandya but edged it behind. While Samson claimed that catch, the on-field umpires decided to go upstairs for confirmation. After a couple of replays, the third umpire adjudged Fakhar out, but the left-handed batter was not happy with the decision. Fakhar left the field with frustration on his face.

ALSO READ: Sahibzada Farhan Opens Up On Controversial Gunfire Celebration During IND vs PAK Clash

According to Pakistani media reports, their team manager, Naveed Cheema, raised his concerns with match referee Andy Pycroft, who reportedly informed him that such disputes fell beyond his control.

Cheema, on the other end, ended up sending a formal email to the ICC over the decision and the process followed by the television umpire. Reports claimed that the Pakistan management mentioned that the evidence was not "clear and conclusive" enough to justify Zaman’s dismissal.

After the match, Pakistan captain Salman Ali Agha expressed his doubts about the dismissal. While acknowledging that umpires can make mistakes, he suggested that the ball may have bounced before reaching Samson’s gloves.

"You can say the way he was batting, if he batted throughout the power play, we probably would have scored 190. But yeah, that’s the umpire’s call. And they can make mistakes. I don’t know. To me, it bounced before it reached the keeper," he added.