- By Himanshu Badola
- Sun, 05 Oct 2025 09:34 PM (IST)
- Source:JND
IND-W vs PAK-W, ICC Women's World Cup 2025: A huge controversy took place during the India vs Pakistan match in the ongoing ICC Women's World Cup 2025, with Muneeba Ali's dismissal at the R.Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Sunday.
During Pakistan's run chase, Muneeba Ali and Sadaf Shamas took the crease and had a slow start to their innings. On the final ball of the fourth over, bowled by Kranti Goud, Muneeba was hit on her pads, and the Indian players were quick to appeal for the LBW dismissal.
The on-field umpire gave it not-out. As the appeal was dying down, the stumps at the striker’s end were lit up, and the Indians appealed for a run-out as Deepti Sharma came up with a direct hit, sensing an opportunity. India didn’t appeal for LBW, and initially, the game seemed to be moving ahead. However, the umpires then checked for a run-out. Muneeba was initially out of her crease, but brought her bat down. The third umpire checked it and gave it not-out, and it showed on the big screen as such as well.
ALSO READ: India vs Pakistan LIVE Cricket Score, Women's WC 2025 Updates
Then, another check was conducted, and this time, the umpire checked the footage and confirmed that when the ball hit the stumps and the bails came off, Muneeba’s bat was not touching the ground but instead in the air over the crease as she had pulled it back up. The big screen flashed again, this time with ‘Out’, and the Indians ran in celebration, while Muneeba was naturally upset on her way back to the pavilion.
Controversial Decision for sure.
— Devendra (@Devendra786s) October 5, 2025
Muneeba ali adjusted run out by Third Umpire #INDvsPAK #WomensWorldCup2025 #INDvPak pic.twitter.com/pq2cWDLKpN
ALSO READ: Abrar Ahmed Wants To Punch THIS INDIAN STAR After Pakistan's Defeat In Asia Cup 2025 Final
Social media was ablaze after the controversial dismissal, with many claiming foul play; however, the umpire made the right call, according to ICC rules.
According to Law 30.1 of the playing conditions, a batter will be given out if he or she has no part behind the crease; however, Law 30.2 states that the batter should not be out if he or she made the ground and later the bat or the body part lost contact with the ground.
But the law 30.2 only stands if the batter is running or diving. Notably, Muneeba wasn't doing any of the activity, and she had given up. Meanwhile, the replays later showed that Muneeba would have been out LBW had India reviewed.