- By Vishal Pushkar
- Mon, 22 Sep 2025 03:18 PM (IST)
- Source:JND
IND vs PAK Yesterday Match: Pakistan's captain Salman Agha reflected on the dismissal of opener Fakhar Zaman during the intense Asia Cup Super Fours match against India, stating that the take by Sanju Samson may have hit the ground before reaching his gloves. Fakhar, who was moved up to open the innings, provided Pakistan with a rapid start, hitting three boundaries in his first eight balls, and looked threatening with a score of 15.
The on-field umpires decided to review the call, and after several replays, TV umpire Ruchira Palliyaguruge concluded that the ball had cleanly entered the gloves. Consequently, Fakhar was ruled out, much to the dismay of the Pakistan team.
Also Read: Gambhir's reaction post IND vs PAK goes viral
During the post-match press conference, Salman Agha implied that the ruling might not have been completely accurate.
"I don't know about the decision. As far as I'm concerned, I thought it was... It's obviously umpire's job. Umpires can make mistakes and I have no problem with that but it does look like it bounced before to me, but I might be wrong. I don't know," Salman said.
The Pakistan skipper also pointed out how crucial Fakhar's wicket was.
"It was something, you can say, the way he was batting, if he batted throughout the power-play, we would probably have scored 190. You never know," he added.
Salman remarked that while he respected the officials' decision, doubts remained in his mind.'
Also Read: IND vs PAK, not a rivalry anymore: Suryakumar Yadav
"Yeah, that's the umpire's call and they can make mistakes. I don't know, to me, it bounced before the keeper, but yeah, I can be wrong as well," he concluded.
Coming to the fixture on Sunday night, Pakistan managed to crawl its way to 171/5, their highest against India while batting first in T20Is. In reply, Abhishek (74) and Shubman Gill (47) raised a 105-run opening stand to pave the way for India's triumph.
Inputs from Agency